You are here

Reel Simple

Beds/Baths

5 BR
3 BA
221 South Lumina AvenueWrightsville Beach
W238

Description

Are you looking to coast back to simpler times? “Reel Simple” is a beachfront Wrightsville Beach cottage listed on the Historic Registry! Featuring stunning ocean views from porches that span both floors and plenty of space for the entire family, this is the prefect home for folks who enjoy a traditional family beach vacation.

The outdoor space that the cottage offers is truly a rare find. Two large porches wrap around the exterior of the property and are lined with rocking chairs, comfy loungers, and give endless views of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Several screen doors line the porches and allow for lovely cross breezes on warm summer evenings with the waves crashing in the background. There is a large shaded screened-in dining area off the kitchen which makes a perfect spot for gathering!

Guests of this charming cottage will be welcomed into the home by way of a lush tropical garden that passes by a small neighboring cottage. An exterior staircase leads you to the porch and the main door to the home is accessed through the screened porch. As you enter the home and walk into the kitchen, you are instantly met with tons of charm and gentle nods to the history of this amazing family home. The kitchen boasts beautiful wooden walls that carry through the ceiling and while it is upfitted with modern conveniences, it holds true to the age and simplistic feel of this classic beach cottage.

To the left of the kitchen is a large laundry room that leads to a full bathroom with a walk-in shower. There are two twin beds in the laundry room that are not included in the occupancy of the home and are not intended for guest use. Passing through the kitchen again, you will arrive in the dining room which is furnished with a sizable kitchen table and an antique buffet that houses games, puzzles, and books. The wonderfully aged hardwood floors compliment the historic photos that tell the story of this home which has been loved by many generations. The cozy master bedroom is accessed off the dining room and provides a full-size bed, neat half bathroom, and has two windows that let in natural light.

Through the dining room is the spacious family room that offers a sitting area, comfortably furnished living room with TV, and boasts original glass paned French doors that lead to the first-floor ocean front deck. Take a second to stop and admire the antique wall décor and historical memorabilia as you ascend the stairs. The top floor bathroom has a large claw foot tub and services the four nearby bedrooms. An oceanfront guest room with two twin beds, a queen bed, vanity table, an TV makes a great accommodation for guests of all ages with two large windows that overlook the ocean and a convenient door that gives access to the top floor deck. The second guest room is furnished with two twin beds is a great place for children as there is no exterior egress. Another guest room with two twin beds offers direct access to the ocean front deck and has a small sink. The fourth guest room on this floor is outfitted with a queen-size bed and offers a small sink.

Occupancy: 12
Stay Requirements: Sunday to Sunday rental in Summer. Minimum of two night stay other seasons.
Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen, 2 Fulls, 6 Twins
Parking: Parking 2 vehicles in driveway (not under carport).
Prohibited: Smoking, Boat Trailers.
Pet Policy: Pets welcome with fee of $200 per pet.
Special Amenities: Private beach access, Outdoor shower.

Please note that the small guest cottage at the front of the property is not included with this rental and carport parking is strictly reserved for this cottage.

Bryant Real Estate, established in 1952, is a professionally operated firm that is licensed in North Carolina and hired by the property owner to manage “W238 – Reel Simple” as a vacation rental.

Amenities

Essentials

  • Cable
  • Dryer
  • Washer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Heating
  • Hot Water
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Kitchen
  • Private Entrance
  • Wifi
  • Bed Linens
  • Towels

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Silverware
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Toaster
  • Stove
  • Blender
  • Baking Sheet
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Dining table

Facility

  • Free Parking

Entertainment

  • Satellite or Cable

Outdoor

  • Patio or Balcony
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Private Beach Access

Location

  • Beach Front
  • Beach View
  • Ocean Front
  • Ocean View
  • Water View

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Reviews

Leave a Review

wonderful vacation home

Reviewed on 2024-06-06 by N. Martin , Raleigh , NC
Overall
5
This is a wonderful vacation home. It is located right on the beach with stunning views. The house is also very close to restaurants and shopping in the area. We will definitely rent this property again.

Reel Special

Reviewed on 2023-06-24 by Richmond Family , Richmond, Va
Overall
3
This property is incredibly special, and I am grateful the owners continue to rent it out so others can share the magic of a simpler WB era. We also loved that we could bring our dog!While our family would stay again, we hope some rough spots will be smoothed out because while the rates are definitely significantly less than the newer properties, they are not insignificant. I leave this review so families can have a clear picture of the property, if it’s right for them and manage their own expectations. Plus’s:Great location, awesome decks (stairs and railing newly replaced) and new lovely hammock, first floor and most bedrooms very charming with lots of cool and interesting WB decor. Functional kitchen, plenty of space for guests to spread out. Outdoor shower (don’t skip it!), good assortment of beach toys (bring your chairs), AC worked great, lots of puzzles and board games. Management was quick when a bathroom repair was needed. Extra mini fridge was a welcomed plus. Con’s:The curtains / blinds in the three-bed, bedroom were a mess. In the same room, none of the beds had bedding that covered the old & exposed box springs. In general, some of the home’s bedding just looked really cheap and not like the vintage look of the photos. None of the porch daybeds had their covers (we improvised with extra blankets), and one of the daybed pillows looked like a raccoon had attacked it. As has been mentioned before, the floors are in rough shape and many of the sinks have rust stains. My favorite shower was definitely the outdoor one. Again, over-all, this is an awesome house and one that is increasingly rare as the classic cottages are being torn down and replaced with megahomes. . We’d rent again and are grateful the family shares their special home with others.

Reel Special

Reviewed on 2023-06-12 by Richmond Family
Overall
4
This property is incredibly special, and I am grateful the owners continue to rent it out so others can share the magic of a simpler WB era. We also loved that we could bring our dog!While our family would stay again, we hope some rough spots will be smoothed out because while the rates are definitely significantly less than the newer properties, they are not insignificant. I leave this review so families can have a clear picture of the property, if it’s right for them and manage their own expectations. Plus’s:Great location, awesome decks (stairs and railing newly replaced) and new lovely hammock, first floor and most bedrooms very charming with lots of cool and interesting WB decor. Functional kitchen, plenty of space for guests to spread out. Outdoor shower (don’t skip it!), good assortment of beach toys (bring your chairs), AC worked great, lots of puzzles and board games. Management was quick when a bathroom repair was needed. Extra mini fridge was a welcomed plus. Con’s:The curtains / blinds in the three-bed, bedroom were a mess. In the same room, none of the beds had bedding that covered the old & exposed box springs. In general, some of the home’s bedding just looked really cheap and not like the vintage look of the photos. None of the porch daybeds had their covers (we improvised with extra blankets), and one of the daybed pillows looked like a raccoon had attacked it. As has been mentioned before, the floors are in rough shape and many of the sinks have rust stains. My favorite shower was definitely the outdoor one. Again, over-all, this is an awesome house and one that is increasingly rare as the classic cottages are being torn down and replaced with megahomes. . We’d rent again and are grateful the family shares their special home with others.

So easy to work with for our stay. Very friendly staff and great accommodations.

Reviewed on 2023-05-22 by Harriet B
Overall
5

Perfect for kids and dogs! Excellent location!

Reviewed on 2023-04-21 by Sue W
Overall
5

Reel Simple - A Piece of Beach History

Reviewed on 2022-10-07 by , Wake Forest, NC United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Many thing to love about this old beach house! History revealed in magazine articles framed and hanging in the stairwell. Amazing collection of seafood cookbooks and jigsaw puzzles. Wide decks with hammock and rockers facing the ocean breeze. Dining area (covered screened porch) with a tropical garden on one side and ocean view on the other. Pet friendly with gates on the upper and lower decks. Inside, a table big enough for a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle plus another 4-person game table. Easy walk to beach, grocery, restaurants, and boat tours. Could use some improvement for housekeeping, pest control, and longer strings for the ceiling fans.

Manager's Response

Thank you so much for this great and very descriptive review! This house is such a popular rental with the history, amenities and fantastic location and views. We hope you will make Reel Simple your vacation spot year after year!

Old beauty needs some help

Reviewed on 2022-08-23 by Robert F. , Charlotte, NC United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
1
Location
5
Property condition
1
We’ve been staying off and on at the Landis house since the 90’s. It needs some help. The beds are even worse than they were back then. The doors are often not functional, and the dirtiness of the place may be mistaken for “patina.” I do t know why the owners don’t keep the house up. There are even Raul spindles missing and broken on second floor porches. It would be lovely if the owners saw fit to put some money into it. I even saw the price went up for next summer. That’s wild. A lot has changed on this little island. We love the location and the lovely porches.

Manager's Response

Hi Robert. Thank you for your feedback on Reel Simple. We are glad you've been visiting this house for so many years. I am sorry you had some issues with the floors and we were happy that you reported it as quickly as you did so we could address that right away by sending one of our best housekeeping staff to re-clean, and one of our hospitality leaders there to make sure you were satisfied with the results. I will pass along your suggestion of updates that you feel are needed in the house to the owners for them to consider in the future.

Happy Place!

Reviewed on 2022-08-16 by Leslie H. , Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
This is the third year we have stayed at Reel Simple & loved it! It's a total gem, full of character, beautiful old school beach house. The views and the vibe are exactly what we love about this place!

Manager's Response

Thank you Leslie for that review! Many people have expressed how it reminds them of going to a beach house when they were growing up, including myself. We hope you'll make it your fourth year next year and we will see you then!

Another Great Stay at Reel Simple!!

Reviewed on 2022-07-05 by Karyn G. , Easley, SC US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We returned back to Reel Simple 3 months to the day from when our oldest son was married just down the road at the Carolina Yacht Club! It was wonderful returning back to the home that already held so many precious memories from our sons wedding. All 4 of our boys were actually able to make it at some point during our stay...not easy to do once they are grown and gone! We celebrated our second oldest birthday on July 1st. This was the first time he has had a beach birthday since he was very little!
So much space in this incredible home for everyone to spread out or for everyone to gather!! There is construction going on next door, but surprisingly, the crew was very respectful of their vacationing neighbors and noise was very minimal. The house was well stocked and the AC worked great! Although, weather was close to perfect!
Many thanks to the owners of this fantastic home for providing a place where our family has already made so many great memories! We look forward to returning in the years to come.

Manager's Response

Thank you Karyn for the great review! We are so glad you continue making family memories in Reel Simple through the years and we hope you will be back soon!

Old Age is Never Easy

Reviewed on 2022-06-07 by Mary S. , Rocky Mount, NC United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
2
Location
4
Property condition
2
Although we really appreciated the history behind this vintage cottage, we were disappointed with the primitive accommodations. The bathrooms were below standard and many of the sinks in the bedrooms were rusty. If you went barefooted inside, the bottom of your feet were black and the kitchen had greasy pots, pans and utensils that did not seem clean. The dishwasher and refrigerator were fine but the washing machine and dryer were past their prime, as were some of the mattresses on the beds. We had leaks in the kitchen when I it rained and the lamps needed brighter bulbs or at least a bulb that worked. This being said, the beach was wonderful and the walk way in, enchanting. We spent most of our time out on the the beach or the decks and had almost perfect weather. Iif this cottage could talk, I know it would tell of years of wonderful family get togethers , but it really needs some upgrading to meet todays standards and meet the expectations of the rental cost .’

Manager's Response

Mary, we really appreciate your feedback on this historic and unique home. I do hope you were able to enjoy the close proximity to the beach and beautiful ocean view from the porches. I apologize there were issues that occurred during your stay, but I assure you that I have passed on your comments to both our hospitality and maintenance departments in order to correct these issues for future guests. As far as the appliances, we do have procedures in place to discuss these things with our owners. I will be sure to send your comments up the ladder so that it can be discussed accordingly. We take feedback very seriously, so we thank you for giving us the opportunity to constantly improve our guests' experiences. We hope you'll consider staying with us again for your next vacation!

“Reel” perfect for our son’s wedding weekend!

Reviewed on 2022-04-13 by Karyn G. , Easley, SC US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4
We could not have asked for a more perfect and roomy location for our family, as we gathered for our oldest son’s wedding. Walking distance to the venue location. Plenty of room for everyone and convenient to everything Wrightsville Beach has to offer!

Manager's Response

Thank you for sharing those special memories with us at Reel Simple, Karyn! This older cottage is full of charm and has everything you need for a perfect vacation, especially that ocean view! It is located right next to the Blockade Runner hotel but is very quiet and almost in it's own little world. We would love to host your family again on your next visit to the island - you are always welcome back!

Reel Simple in October

Reviewed on 2021-10-16 by , Spring Hope, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
The perfect location for a fall escape. We loved the charm and ambiance of this classic beach cottage. We fell in love with the upper porch; rocking, reading and watching the fishermen just off the surf. Our dog enjoyed the porch too, especially the rabbits that came out at dusk. The cottage was clean and the kitchen well stocked.

Manager's Response

We always love to hear positive feedback from our guests and thank you for your review, Patricia! We are so happy Reel Simple exceeded your expectations and served as the perfect rental for your Fall getaway to the beach! The porch truly does offer something special being tucked into the trees, you really feel detached from the world. We regularly complete kitchen inventory to ensure the units are staying stocked so it's great to hear you had everything you needed and the unit was clean! We hope you will return next time.

Vintage in every way - clean and special, just needs help

Reviewed on 2021-09-10 by , Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
2
We really enjoyed the location and being able to take our pups. Thank you! With that also came a rustic, vintage experience. It’s clear this home used to be a nice place but hasn’t been really updated in years. Which is fine if you want the vintage experience. What is not ok is the condition of a few key items. I had to cut a piece of clothesline to ensure the gate was securely fastened and wouldn’t fall open. My wife and daughter both became trapped in the small upstairs bathroom when the door locked and the 1920s-era doorknob fell out. They had to call us on their cell phones to get help as we were out of earshot. And it was difficult for me to get the bathroom door open. The general condition just needs 2000 dollars and a handyman to go around and fix things. All that aside, we loved the feel of it and didn’t mind the vintage nature of it at all. It was completely clean and comfortable and we weren’t worried about hurting anything because it was in that state. Really appreciate the institutionally cleaned towels and sheets. I would recommend the owner buy some new cooking and eating utensils and pots / pans in addition to hiring a handyman for a day or two. Id recommend some landscaping and improve the beach shower area. I’d give particular attention to safety items. I’d also recommend you market it more clearly as the vintage experience it is. It’s next to many high-end properties but it is definitely not high end. But it’s pet friendly, it’s on the beach (!) clean, and the support staff were very sharp and professional. I would stay here again but not at the price I paid having now seen the well-worn state of the property. I must say though that the sun rising over the ocean from the second floor porch almost negates anything I have said here. It’s a special place, the beach view and proximity is spectacular, you can tell a special family has owned it for a very long time, and it is

Manager's Response

Thank you for your thorough review of Reel Simple, James. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it all along to the property owners to encourage additional improvements. As for the maintenance issues, all have been addressed after you vacated the property. Be sure to give us a call next time as our maintenance staff is available 24/7 should any issues arise during your stay - we would have loved to get out there and make things right, that's what we are here for! Now that the busy summer season has completed, housekeeping, maintenance, and property managers are able to spend more time in properties and begin off-season projects to get the units back to standard. Reel Simple is as such, a classic beach cottage feeling with all the comfortable charm you'd expect in an old beach home. It's great to hear you enjoyed the home for the most part and were able to take full advantage of the oceanview and proximity to the beach. You are welcome back anytime and should you prefer another property, our friendly team of reservationists can work with you to find something more your style. Thanks again!

Another great stay!

Reviewed on 2021-08-02 by Leslie H. , Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was our 2nd year staying at the Reel Simple Cottage and we loved it! Great location, great views and vintage cottage full charm!

Manager's Response

Leslie, welcome back to Reel Simple! It's wonderful to hear you loved it so much the first time you re-rented the same unit! We hope your stay was full of cozy, relaxing days spent rocking in the chairs on the decks and spending time at the beach! This historic cottage introduces it's charm from the moment you park your car, with a shaded walk through the trees leading to the unit, in a quiet area of the island that will have you feeling like the only ones there. We appreciate your business and choosing to rent with our company again, we love to see it! Come on back anytime, you are always welcome.

Old School

Reviewed on 2021-06-21 by , Charlotte, NC United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
2
Location
5
Property condition
3
Old School

Manager's Response

Martha, we appreciate your review and would love to hear more about your specific feedback so we can improve wherever we may have fallen short. Feel free to reach out to us to provide some more info. In the future, please know our maintenance and housekeeping staff are available for any issues that may arise during your stay and would love the opportunity to make it right. Reel Simple is old school, but it is a well maintained and clean cottage, one of the originals to Wrightsville Beach! You get a sense for the deep history in the décor, with many original antiques and old photos throughout. If the property was not what you were looking for, we would love to match you with a different property next time you visit with us! Thank you again for your review, take care!

Keep it Simple

Reviewed on 2021-06-06 by Dennis S. , Ridgeland, MS United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
Would not change a thing about this place. We had four households comfortably housed for the entire stay. Great location within walking distance of restaurants and easy kayak put-in on canal side. The vintage vibe was perfect and had a great stay. Hope to be back. Easy in & out with Bryant Real Estate.

Manager's Response

Dennis, it's great to hear that you enjoyed all the wonderful charm Reel Simple offers! This historic beach cottage is a treat for those who want to get away and relax in a secluded area. The home has ample bedrooms and beds to comfortably sleep larger groups without losing that old-school vibe with the sinks in each room! Glad you loved it and we hope to see you back again soon.

Reel Simple

Reviewed on 2021-05-04 by John B. , Unity, ME United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
2
Location is outstanding. Home is large. Linen service is great. On the other hand: floors in main rooms were filthy black, roaches & ants all over the place - eewww!, doorknobs to bedrooms kept falling off, 2 coffee pots...neither worked so I purchased a new one & left it for the next guests, dishes in cabinets were ALL dirty, and the showers in both bathrooms just sucked. House could use a deep cleaning & some moderate maintenance.I guess is a mixed review but we expected “better”. Still had a great time and would consider renting here again under the right circumstances.

Manager's Response

John, thank you for your feedback on Reel Simple. We are sorry to hear you had a couple issues and would have loved the opportunity to correct them if you had made us aware! All are easy fixes that maintenance could have taken care of that day as they are on call 24/7. We stock coffee makers at the office and the owner would pay for that replacement had you not bought one yourself. We never heard of any issues with the coffee makers not working and have been renting the property for a bit of time. The unit already had its spring clean this year which is an intensive deep cleaning of the unit and everything in it. It is an older historical cottage, so it's age may make it feel unclean, even if it is clean. We will make note of your feedback and suggestions to relay to the owner. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation nonetheless and have other historical homes on the island you could try next time if you'd like.

Spring Break Getaway

Reviewed on 2021-04-02 by Katy B. , Durham, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Two moms, two dads, one Nana, three kids and three dogs thoroughly enjoyed our late-March stay at Reel Simple. The gated porches were great for the dogs. The first level en suite room was perfect for Nana. The other adults enjoyed drinks on the upper deck with amazing views at night. The kitchen was well stocked equipment-wise (Brita water pitcher + Ninja blender were a plus). The beach was super close, as was ice cream and coffee shops. If you like vintage, this is the house for you. It is truly like stepping back in time. We enjoyed meals on the porch. The kids got a kick out of old-fashioned sinks in most rooms and old-fashioned day beds on the sleeping porch.
Despite being an old house, the plumbing worked fine and there was plenty of hot water in the showers. Being right next door to a big resort was no big deal at all-- no noise or harsh lights and still plenty of privacy.

Manager's Response

Katy, we really appreciate your wonderful review of Reel simple! It sounds like it was a great trip. The unit was recently spring cleaned and we completed a full unit inventory and kitchen cabinet labeling - glad to hear you found the kitchen well stocked! One of the best aspects of this cottage is that it is very quiet and has the feeling of being secluded from the hustle and bustle of Wrightsville Beach. We are happy to hear you appreciated the historical feel of the home which we feel is what makes it so special. We would love to have you back anytime you need another getaway - keep in touch!

Charming beach cottage

Reviewed on 2020-10-18 by , Sanford, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Perfect stay in an old-school beach cottage right on the beach. Celebrated my mother-in-law's 75th birthday and could not have been happier with the accommodations. Fully-equipped kitchen had everything needed for meals, and it's just a very short walk from a coffee shop and several restaurants if you don't want to cook. We hope to return soon!

Manager's Response

Please do, Jim! Happy 75th to the mother-in-law!

shelter in place at Reel Simple

Reviewed on 2020-08-04 by Mary A. , Baltimore, MD United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
2
This was a good family gathering place though we had to call for repairs to the porch railing since there were several posts that were broken which was dangerous for a toddler. During most of our stay, the power went off in 2 of the bedrooms, and the electrician did not fix the problem during our stay.

Manager's Response

Hello, Mary. Thank you for your review! We agree that the screened-in dining area at Reel Simple is one of the best spots on the island to gather with family and friends, and we're so glad you liked it! We also sincerely appreciate you letting us know about and allowing us to repair the pickets and electrical issue. We're glad to report that the breaker at fault has been replaced. We aim to keep this classic Wrightsville Beach cottage in the best shape possible for families to enjoy for years to come. Hope to see you back on the island again soon!

Loved it, full of charm!

Reviewed on 2020-06-29 by Leslie H. , Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
Reel Simple was a total gem! Doesn't look like much from the street but don't let that fool you....when you walk past the cute "little house" and what feels like a beautiful secret garden & go up the stairs, you are met by this wonderful house full of true vintage charm & character. The porches were fantastic, we ate outside every night. Under the hammock was our dog's favorite spot. Location was great, close enough to walk everywhere but just far enough away from the big crowds. There were tons of puzzles at the house and it is a great set up for family game nights. Plenty of casserole dishes, pots & baking sheets but the frying pans were not great so if you cook a lot with one of those I would bring one. They have a cast iron skillet which I used a lot, it's just not that big. We recommend South Beach Grill (great GF options), Tower7, Vito's Pizza, the Workshop, Surfberry and Sweetwater Surf Shop. All of these places wore masks(except the Workshop some days the employees had masks on and some days not) and they were using safe business practices during the unfortunate Covid-19 pandemic.

Manager's Response

Hello, Leslie. Thank you for leaving your review! We think you nailed it and agree that Reel Simple is a gem in Wrightsville Beach.
Thank you again for the detailed review and kind words, and we hope to see y'all again next year!

Reel Simple

Reviewed on 2020-06-25 by Jennifer F. , Belmont, NC US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had an amazing quick get away. Reel Simple was an unexpected delight! The house was absolutely charming with character and comfort to spare. The location was perfect and so was the view. We look forward to returning very soon!

Manager's Response

Great to hear, Jennifer! You're welcome back anytime!

GOING BACK IN TIME

Reviewed on 2020-05-31 by Jerri D. , Mesa, AZ United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
we had a great stay i am from Wrightsville beach and we came to visit our kids the beach house was great for the weekend and we could bring the dogs the air-conditioner was not working and they had it fixed within hours on a Saturday evening.

Manager's Response

Hi Jerri- Glad you enjoyed that true WB nostalgia! Apologize about the a/c but glad it was corrected quickly. Hope to see you at the beach again soon!

Location

Get Directions